News & Opinion

» cancer and opinion

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: Opinion: Younger Is Better

Opinion: Younger Is Better

By | August 31, 2012

Stem cells collected from younger donors are more effective for transplantation and regenerative medicine than those from older individuals.

9 Comments

image: Dieting Monkeys Don't Live Longer

Dieting Monkeys Don't Live Longer

By | August 29, 2012

The latest news from a long-term study of calorie restriction in rhesus macaques shows better health, but no boost in lifespan, in monkeys who eat less.

11 Comments

image: Opinion: Transparency in Science Publishing

Opinion: Transparency in Science Publishing

By | August 28, 2012

As a new age in scholarly publishing dawns, improved standards for openness in communicating scientific information promise to eliminate biases and publication delays.

6 Comments

image: Opinion: What Is the Human Genome?

Opinion: What Is the Human Genome?

By | August 17, 2012

The human genome that researchers sequenced at the turn of the century doesn’t really exist as we know it.

11 Comments

image: Opinion: Encouraging Brain Migration

Opinion: Encouraging Brain Migration

By | August 14, 2012

Countries with a healthy import and export of scientific talent lead the world in research and innovation.

9 Comments

image: Opinion: Bias Is Unavoidable

Opinion: Bias Is Unavoidable

By | August 7, 2012

Simply disclosing conflicts of interest is not enough.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: OA Coming of Age

Opinion: OA Coming of Age

By | August 6, 2012

Open-access journals are reaching the same quality levels as their subscription counterparts.

0 Comments

image: Cancer Stem Cells Really Do Exist?

Cancer Stem Cells Really Do Exist?

By | August 1, 2012

Researchers track tumors as they develop, providing more support for the idea that cells with stem-cell-like properties underlie cancer growth and recurrence.

4 Comments

image: Opinion: The Postdoc Challenge

Opinion: The Postdoc Challenge

By | August 1, 2012

Financial hardships of young scientists in training are forcing many talented researchers to find new careers.

25 Comments

image: Opinion: Scientists’ Intuitive Failures

Opinion: Scientists’ Intuitive Failures

By | July 23, 2012

Much of what researchers believe about the public and effective communication is wrong.

26 Comments

Popular Now

  1. Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal
    News & Opinion Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal

    My “colleagues” and I at the fictitious Arthur Vandelay Urological Research Institute were surprised to find our bogus “uromycitisis” case report swiftly accepted, with only minor revisions requested.

  2. Consilience, Episode 3: Cancer, Obscured
  3. March for Science: Dispatches from Washington, DC
  4. Human Cord Plasma Protein Boosts Cognitive Function in Older Mice
AAAS