Advertisement
Amazon
Amazon

News & Opinion

» culture and opinion

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: How Are We Doing?

How Are We Doing?

By | November 29, 2011

Let us know what you like about The Scientist, and how we can improve our coverage of the life sciences.

0 Comments

image: Q&A: Aging Geniuses

Q&A: Aging Geniuses

By | November 8, 2011

A new study shows that over the past century, the age at which scientists produce their most valuable work is increasing.

39 Comments

image: Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

By | November 2, 2011

A legal remedy is needed to curb unethical “guest authorship” in medical journals.

57 Comments

image: Best Places Surveys Are Closed

Best Places Surveys Are Closed

By | October 25, 2011

The Scientist's 2012 Best Places to Work surveys have closed.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: The Burden of Borders

Opinion: The Burden of Borders

By | October 17, 2011

US border policy and fences threaten wildlife across the continent.

24 Comments

image: We're Back

We're Back

By | October 17, 2011

The Scientist is back in business and will continue to bring you the latest news and greatest developments in the life sciences.

51 Comments

image: Opinion: A New Global Health Agenda

Opinion: A New Global Health Agenda

By | October 4, 2011

After a historic UN meeting, global efforts must be coordinated against noncommunicable diseases to thwart the world’s leading causes of death and disability.

6 Comments

image: Immunologists Take Home Nobel

Immunologists Take Home Nobel

By | October 3, 2011

The Nobel Assembly announced today that three researchers in the field of immunology will share the 2011 Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

45 Comments

image: Q&A: Overhaul the Funding System

Q&A: Overhaul the Funding System

By | September 28, 2011

Can science step in to find the best ways of allocating money for research?

45 Comments

image: Opinion: Species Origins DO Matter!

Opinion: Species Origins DO Matter!

By | September 28, 2011

Organisms introduced to new habitats pose a significant threat to the native flora and fauna.

30 Comments

Advertisement

Popular Now

  1. Neanderthals’ Genetic Legacy
  2. Turning Tumor Cells Against Cancer
  3. Brazil’s Pre-Zika Microcephaly Cases
    The Nutshell Brazil’s Pre-Zika Microcephaly Cases

    A review of four years’ worth of medical records finds far greater numbers of microcephaly cases from before the ongoing Zika virus epidemic than had been officially reported.

  4. The Mycobiome
    Features The Mycobiome

    The largely overlooked resident fungal community plays a critical role in human health and disease.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Life Technologies