News & Opinion

» culture and opinion

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: Top 7 in Ecology

Top 7 in Ecology

By | December 6, 2011

A snapshot of the most highly ranked articles in ecology, from Faculty of 1000

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Beyond the Model

Opinion: Beyond the Model

By | November 29, 2011

How next-generation sequencing technologies will drive a new era of research on non-model organisms.

3 Comments

image: How Are We Doing?

How Are We Doing?

By | November 29, 2011

Let us know what you like about The Scientist, and how we can improve our coverage of the life sciences.

0 Comments

image: Q&A: Aging Geniuses

Q&A: Aging Geniuses

By | November 8, 2011

A new study shows that over the past century, the age at which scientists produce their most valuable work is increasing.

39 Comments

image: Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

By | November 2, 2011

A legal remedy is needed to curb unethical “guest authorship” in medical journals.

57 Comments

image: Best Places Surveys Are Closed

Best Places Surveys Are Closed

By | October 25, 2011

The Scientist's 2012 Best Places to Work surveys have closed.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: The Burden of Borders

Opinion: The Burden of Borders

By | October 17, 2011

US border policy and fences threaten wildlife across the continent.

24 Comments

image: We're Back

We're Back

By | October 17, 2011

The Scientist is back in business and will continue to bring you the latest news and greatest developments in the life sciences.

51 Comments

image: Opinion: A New Global Health Agenda

Opinion: A New Global Health Agenda

By | October 4, 2011

After a historic UN meeting, global efforts must be coordinated against noncommunicable diseases to thwart the world’s leading causes of death and disability.

6 Comments

image: Immunologists Take Home Nobel

Immunologists Take Home Nobel

By | October 3, 2011

The Nobel Assembly announced today that three researchers in the field of immunology will share the 2011 Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

45 Comments

Advertisement
Lonza Group
Lonza Group

Popular Now

  1. First Data from Anti-Aging Gene Therapy
  2. The Two Faces of Fish Oil
    Notebook The Two Faces of Fish Oil

    The discovery of a tumor-protecting role for a fatty acid found in fish oil has sparked debate about the product’s safety.

  3. The Zombie Literature
    Features The Zombie Literature

    Retractions are on the rise. But reams of flawed research papers persist in the scientific literature. Is it time to change the way papers are published?

  4. Locating Language within the Brain
Advertisement
Advertisement
RayBioTech