Advertisement
GE Healthcare
GE Healthcare

News & Opinion

» opinion and culture

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: Opinion: Occupy Science?

Opinion: Occupy Science?

By | January 24, 2012

Biomedical research can learn from citizen science, which is grounded in strong relationships with study participants.

33 Comments

image: Behavior Brief

Behavior Brief

By | January 4, 2012

A roundup of recent discoveries in behavior research

0 Comments

image: Top People of 2011

Top People of 2011

By | December 21, 2011

The Scientist recounts the year’s top science prize winners and top-notch scientists that passed away.

15 Comments

image: <em>The Scientist</em>'s 2011 Geeky Gift Guide

The Scientist's 2011 Geeky Gift Guide

By | December 16, 2011

Find the perfect present for the devoted life scientist in your life.

6 Comments

image: Opinion: Confounded Cancer Markers

Opinion: Confounded Cancer Markers

By | December 7, 2011

Prognostic signatures have become popular tools in cancer research, but it turns out signatures made of random genes are prognostic as well.

39 Comments

image: Top 7 in Ecology

Top 7 in Ecology

By | December 6, 2011

A snapshot of the most highly ranked articles in ecology, from Faculty of 1000

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Beyond the Model

Opinion: Beyond the Model

By | November 29, 2011

How next-generation sequencing technologies will drive a new era of research on non-model organisms.

3 Comments

image: How Are We Doing?

How Are We Doing?

By | November 29, 2011

Let us know what you like about The Scientist, and how we can improve our coverage of the life sciences.

0 Comments

image: Q&A: Aging Geniuses

Q&A: Aging Geniuses

By | November 8, 2011

A new study shows that over the past century, the age at which scientists produce their most valuable work is increasing.

39 Comments

image: Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

By | November 2, 2011

A legal remedy is needed to curb unethical “guest authorship” in medical journals.

57 Comments

Advertisement

Popular Now

  1. Antibiotics and the Gut Microbiome
  2. Sex Differences in Pain Pathway
  3. The Sum of Our Parts
    Features The Sum of Our Parts

    Putting the microbiome front and center in health care, in preventive strategies, and in health-risk assessments could stem the epidemic of noncommunicable diseases.

  4. Anti-Vax Doctor Found Dead
    The Nutshell Anti-Vax Doctor Found Dead

    Police are calling the death of James Bradstreet, a physician who claimed vaccines cause autism and offered autism cures to patients, an apparent suicide.

Advertisement
The Scientist