News & Opinion

» opinion and culture

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: Opinion: Confounded Cancer Markers

Opinion: Confounded Cancer Markers

By | December 7, 2011

Prognostic signatures have become popular tools in cancer research, but it turns out signatures made of random genes are prognostic as well.

39 Comments

image: Top 7 in Ecology

Top 7 in Ecology

By | December 6, 2011

A snapshot of the most highly ranked articles in ecology, from Faculty of 1000

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Beyond the Model

Opinion: Beyond the Model

By | November 29, 2011

How next-generation sequencing technologies will drive a new era of research on non-model organisms.

3 Comments

image: How Are We Doing?

How Are We Doing?

By | November 29, 2011

Let us know what you like about The Scientist, and how we can improve our coverage of the life sciences.

0 Comments

image: Q&A: Aging Geniuses

Q&A: Aging Geniuses

By | November 8, 2011

A new study shows that over the past century, the age at which scientists produce their most valuable work is increasing.

39 Comments

image: Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

Opinion: Ghost Writing is Fraudulent

By | November 2, 2011

A legal remedy is needed to curb unethical “guest authorship” in medical journals.

57 Comments

image: Best Places Surveys Are Closed

Best Places Surveys Are Closed

By | October 25, 2011

The Scientist's 2012 Best Places to Work surveys have closed.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: The Burden of Borders

Opinion: The Burden of Borders

By | October 17, 2011

US border policy and fences threaten wildlife across the continent.

24 Comments

image: We're Back

We're Back

By | October 17, 2011

The Scientist is back in business and will continue to bring you the latest news and greatest developments in the life sciences.

51 Comments

image: Opinion: A New Global Health Agenda

Opinion: A New Global Health Agenda

By | October 4, 2011

After a historic UN meeting, global efforts must be coordinated against noncommunicable diseases to thwart the world’s leading causes of death and disability.

6 Comments

Popular Now

  1. The Meaning of Pupil Dilation
    Daily News The Meaning of Pupil Dilation

    Scientists are using pupil measurements to study a wide range of psychological processes and to get a glimpse into the mind.

  2. Exercise-Induced Muscle Factor Promotes Memory
  3. Illustrating #FieldworkFails
  4. Transmissible Cancers Plague Mollusks
Biosearch Technologies