News & Opinion

» disease/medicine, culture and opinion

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: Stalking Sharks

Stalking Sharks

By | August 30, 2012

Researchers monitor the movement of the Pacific’s largest predators and share the information with the world in real time.

0 Comments

image: Dieting Monkeys Don't Live Longer

Dieting Monkeys Don't Live Longer

By | August 29, 2012

The latest news from a long-term study of calorie restriction in rhesus macaques shows better health, but no boost in lifespan, in monkeys who eat less.

11 Comments

image: Opinion: Transparency in Science Publishing

Opinion: Transparency in Science Publishing

By | August 28, 2012

As a new age in scholarly publishing dawns, improved standards for openness in communicating scientific information promise to eliminate biases and publication delays.

6 Comments

image: Curiouser and Curiouser

Curiouser and Curiouser

By | August 23, 2012

A review of the new book Curious Behavior, which delves into the quirks of human conduct.

7 Comments

image: Blood Spots Are Epigenetic Time Capsules

Blood Spots Are Epigenetic Time Capsules

By | August 22, 2012

Researchers show that blood spotted onto Guthrie cards, usually at birth, can be a high quality source of methylated DNA for long-term epigenetic studies.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: What Is the Human Genome?

Opinion: What Is the Human Genome?

By | August 17, 2012

The human genome that researchers sequenced at the turn of the century doesn’t really exist as we know it.

11 Comments

image: Do That Again

Do That Again

By | August 15, 2012

A new initiative offers gold stars to researchers willing to have their studies replicated by other labs, but will it fix science’s growing irreproducibility problem?

9 Comments

image: Opinion: Encouraging Brain Migration

Opinion: Encouraging Brain Migration

By | August 14, 2012

Countries with a healthy import and export of scientific talent lead the world in research and innovation.

9 Comments

image: Restoring Sight

Restoring Sight

By | August 13, 2012

A strategy to transmit signals to retinal nerve cells may show promise as a step toward alternative retinal prosthesis design.

0 Comments

image: Next Generation: In Vivo Drug Factories

Next Generation: In Vivo Drug Factories

By | August 13, 2012

Researchers use UV light to stimulate protein production in nano-sized delivery capsules in mice.

7 Comments

Popular Now

  1. Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal
    News & Opinion Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal

    My “colleagues” and I at the fictitious Arthur Vandelay Urological Research Institute were surprised to find our bogus “uromycitisis” case report swiftly accepted, with only minor revisions requested.

  2. Consilience, Episode 3: Cancer, Obscured
  3. March for Science: Dispatches from Washington, DC
  4. Record-Setting Corn Grows 45 Feet Tall
AAAS