News & Opinion

» ecology and opinion

Covering the life sciences inside and out

Most Recent

image: Beetles Warm BC Forests

Beetles Warm BC Forests

By | November 27, 2012

Using satellite data, researchers calculate that mountain pine beetle infestations raise summertime temperatures in British Columbia’s pine forests by 1 degree Celsius.

3 Comments

image: Opinion: Super Storm Sandy

Opinion: Super Storm Sandy

By | October 31, 2012

What role did climate change play in this week’s massive hurricane?

12 Comments

image: Opinion: Fishy Deaths

Opinion: Fishy Deaths

By | October 29, 2012

Record fish die-offs in the Midwest call for a fresh look at how humans are disrupting the planet’s essential water cycle.

1 Comment

image: Natural-Born Doctors

Natural-Born Doctors

By | October 23, 2012

Bees, sheep, and chimps are just a few of the animals known to self-medicate. Can they teach us about maintaining our own health?

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Think Like Turing

Opinion: Think Like Turing

By | October 22, 2012

Biomedical researchers would benefit from emulating the logically rigorous reasoning of the late Alan Turing, British mathematician, computer scientist, and master cryptographer.

2 Comments

image: Opinion: Controlling Invasion

Opinion: Controlling Invasion

By | October 15, 2012

Remote sensing helps control an invasive giant weed that threatens ecosystems and border security.

2 Comments

image: Behavior Brief

Behavior Brief

By | October 9, 2012

A round-up of recent discoveries in behavior research

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Singing about Science

Opinion: Singing about Science

By | October 4, 2012

Music videos could be helpful tools for science communication and education, but anti- and pseudoscience activists are also using this medium to spread their views.

1 Comment

image: Beard Beer

Beard Beer

By | October 4, 2012

A brewmaster is creating a signature concoction using yeast found in his facial hair.

2 Comments

image: Evolving Dependence

Evolving Dependence

By | September 27, 2012

Scientists unravel the confusing molecular biology behind a fruit fly’s reliance on a single type of cactus.

1 Comment

Popular Now

  1. Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal
    News & Opinion Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal

    My “colleagues” and I at the fictitious Arthur Vandelay Urological Research Institute were surprised to find our bogus “uromycitisis” case report swiftly accepted, with only minor revisions requested.

  2. Consilience, Episode 3: Cancer, Obscured
  3. A History of Screening for Natural Products to Fight Cancer
  4. March for Science: Dispatches from Washington, DC
AAAS