The Scientist

» opinion and culture

Most Recent

image: Speaking of Science

Speaking of Science

By | August 1, 2012

August 2012's selection of notable quotes

3 Comments

image: Opinion: Scientists’ Intuitive Failures

Opinion: Scientists’ Intuitive Failures

By | July 23, 2012

Much of what researchers believe about the public and effective communication is wrong.

26 Comments

image: EU Promotes Collaboration

EU Promotes Collaboration

By | July 18, 2012

Research and funding organizations pledge to support a new system to support cross-border collaboration within the European Union.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: What’s in Your Food?

Opinion: What’s in Your Food?

By | July 16, 2012

Are the “carcinogenic” chemicals that are produced when foods are cooked really cause for concern?

21 Comments

image: UK Pushes Open Access

UK Pushes Open Access

By | July 16, 2012

Starting in April 2013, research supported by the United Kingdom government must be made freely available within 6 months of publication.

1 Comment

image: Another Victim of Suspicious Data

Another Victim of Suspicious Data

By | July 13, 2012

The researcher who raised questions about the studies by social psychologist Dirk Smeesters flags dodgy data from another scientist.

2 Comments

image: Last Chance for 2012 Salary Survey

Last Chance for 2012 Salary Survey

By | July 10, 2012

The Scientist has extended the deadline for our survey for another week. Take 5 minutes to help us determine the most current salary data for life scientists.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Biased Observers of Nature

Opinion: Biased Observers of Nature

By | July 9, 2012

Potential biases in scientific data collection and analysis should be minimized.

4 Comments

image: Opinion: One Microbe’s 15 Minutes

Opinion: One Microbe’s 15 Minutes

By | July 3, 2012

The recently hyped amoeba-flagellate Collodictyon has many secrets to tell about early eukaryotic evolution.

2 Comments

image: Anesthesiologist Fabricates 172 Papers

Anesthesiologist Fabricates 172 Papers

By | July 3, 2012

A researchers in Japan faked patient data on nearly 200 studies over the past 2 decades, according to an investigating committee.

10 Comments

Popular Now

  1. Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal
    News & Opinion Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal

    My “colleagues” and I at the fictitious Arthur Vandelay Urological Research Institute were surprised to find our bogus “uromycitisis” case report swiftly accepted, with only minor revisions requested.

  2. Consilience, Episode 3: Cancer, Obscured
  3. March for Science: Dispatches from Washington, DC
  4. Record-Setting Corn Grows 45 Feet Tall
AAAS