The Scientist

» opinion and genetics & genomics

Most Recent

image: Opinion: The Frustrating Process of Manuscript Submission

Opinion: The Frustrating Process of Manuscript Submission

By and | May 10, 2017

We suggest a centralized facility for submitting to journals—one that would benefit scientists and not only publishers.

3 Comments

image: Opinion: Get to Know Why People Openly Share Genomic Data

Opinion: Get to Know Why People Openly Share Genomic Data

By | May 9, 2017

It’s not only about health but also about exploring ancestry and contributing to science.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: When Science Meets Activism

Opinion: When Science Meets Activism

By | May 3, 2017

Scientists new to advocacy must find balance between embracing diverse perspectives and guarding against anti-scientific beliefs.

3 Comments

image: Book Excerpt from <em>Flavor</em>

Book Excerpt from Flavor

By | May 1, 2017

Author Bob Holmes dove into the taste-determining realm of his genome.

0 Comments

Scientists discover transcripts from the same gene that can express both proteins and noncoding RNA.  

1 Comment

image: Uncovering the Secrets of a Successful Pest

Uncovering the Secrets of a Successful Pest

By | May 1, 2017

The green peach aphid can colonize new host plants with ease through rapid changes in gene expression.

2 Comments

image: Valerie Horsley Gets Under Skin

Valerie Horsley Gets Under Skin

By | May 1, 2017

The Yale University cell and molecular biologist is probing the deep mysteries of epidermal cells.

1 Comment

image: Why I Had My Sense of Flavor Genotyped

Why I Had My Sense of Flavor Genotyped

By | May 1, 2017

One person’s quest to get to the bottom of the unique way he experiences food

0 Comments

image: Cell Lines Gain Cancer-Related Mutations

Cell Lines Gain Cancer-Related Mutations

By | April 27, 2017

A screen of human embryonic stem cell lines finds several that accumulated changes in the gene TP53, including aberrations commonly seen in cancer.

0 Comments

By analyzing the genomes of 161 dog breeds, scientists discover how and when certain canine breeds emerged.

0 Comments

Popular Now

  1. So You’ve Been Mistaken as a White Nationalist
  2. Opinion: We Need a Replacement for Beall’s List
  3. Your Body Is Teeming with Weed Receptors
    Features Your Body Is Teeming with Weed Receptors

    And the same endocannabinoid system that translates marijuana's buzz-inducing compounds into a high plays crucial roles in health and disease outside the brain.

  4. Doctors’ Advice to Finish Antibiotics Overlooks Resistance
AAAS