The Scientist

» peer review and ecology

Most Recent

image: Image of the Day: Saltwater Survivors

Image of the Day: Saltwater Survivors

By | January 9, 2017

When road deicing salt enters freshwater ecosystems, prey species such as Daphnia pulex can rapidly evolve tolerance to the contaminant, buffering their local food webs from the impacts of salination.

1 Comment

The small lizards adapted to unique niches among dozens of isles.

1 Comment

image: Historical Hunts

Historical Hunts

By | January 1, 2017

See images from a century of fur trapping and hunting in the Amazon basin.

0 Comments

Researchers use a century of trade records to uncover differences in the resilience of terrestrial and aquatic species.

0 Comments

image: Cheetah Range Drops 90 Percent

Cheetah Range Drops 90 Percent

By | December 27, 2016

Estimating only 7,100 individuals remaining, researchers urge a reclassification of the species from vulnerable to endangered.

0 Comments

image: Elephant Footprints Create Habitat for Tiny Aquatic Creatures

Elephant Footprints Create Habitat for Tiny Aquatic Creatures

By | December 1, 2016

Researchers discover diverse communities of invertebrates inhabiting the water-filled tracks of elephants in Uganda.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Repairing Peer Review

Opinion: Repairing Peer Review

By | November 18, 2016

Peer review is in crisis, but should be fixed, not abolished.

2 Comments

image: Tough Crowd

Tough Crowd

By | November 4, 2016

Reviewers who are experts in a given field are more likely to deliver harsher critiques of papers that hit close to home, researchers report.

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Stop Submitting Papers

Opinion: Stop Submitting Papers

By | October 13, 2016

This is not sustainable.

1 Comment

image: Deep-Sea Viruses Destroy Archaea

Deep-Sea Viruses Destroy Archaea

By | October 12, 2016

Viruses are responsible for the majority of archaea deaths on the deep ocean floors, scientists show.

4 Comments

Popular Now

  1. Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal
    News & Opinion Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal

    My “colleagues” and I at the fictitious Arthur Vandelay Urological Research Institute were surprised to find our bogus “uromycitisis” case report swiftly accepted, with only minor revisions requested.

  2. Consilience, Episode 3: Cancer, Obscured
  3. Genetic Analysis Reveals the Evolutionary History of Dogs
  4. Record-Setting Corn Grows 45 Feet Tall
AAAS