The Scientist

» peer review

Most Recent

image: Mass Retraction

Mass Retraction

By | March 27, 2015

BioMed Central retracts 43 papers it had been investigating for evidence of faked peer review.

1 Comment

image: Judge: PubPeer Users Remain Anonymous

Judge: PubPeer Users Remain Anonymous

By | March 6, 2015

A Michigan judge denies a request to reveal the identities of commenters on the post-publication review website.

2 Comments

image: <em>Nature</em> Debuts Peer-Review Option

Nature Debuts Peer-Review Option

By | February 18, 2015

Authors submitting to Nature journals can soon request double-blind reviews.

1 Comment

image: Scientific Publishing, 1665

Scientific Publishing, 1665

By | February 1, 2015

Henry Oldenburg founded Philosophical Transactions to share scholarly news from the “Ingenious in many considerable parts of the World.”

0 Comments

image: Opinion: Out With the Old

Opinion: Out With the Old

By | January 21, 2015

The research community doesn’t need more journals. It’s time we embrace non-traditional publishing platforms.

2 Comments

image: Assessing Research Productivity

Assessing Research Productivity

By , , and | January 1, 2015

A new way of evaluating academics’ research output using easily obtained data

3 Comments

image: Q&A: 1 Million Preprints and Counting

Q&A: 1 Million Preprints and Counting

By | December 29, 2014

A conversation with arXiv founder Paul Ginsparg

0 Comments

image: PubPeer Pushes Back

PubPeer Pushes Back

By | December 11, 2014

The founders of the post-publication peer review website file a motion to quash an academic’s subpoena for user information.

0 Comments

image: Peer Review Manipulation?

Peer Review Manipulation?

By | November 26, 2014

BioMed Central says about 50 manuscripts in its systems may have been erroneously considered or accepted as a result of foul play.

1 Comment

image: Pathologist Sues PubPeer Users

Pathologist Sues PubPeer Users

By | October 27, 2014

A professor who was terminated from a new job before he’d even started is suing users of the post-publication peer review forum for allegedly making defamatory statements.

1 Comment

Popular Now

  1. Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal
    News & Opinion Opinion: Why I Published in a Predatory Journal

    My “colleagues” and I at the fictitious Arthur Vandelay Urological Research Institute were surprised to find our bogus “uromycitisis” case report swiftly accepted, with only minor revisions requested.

  2. Consilience, Episode 3: Cancer, Obscured
  3. March for Science: Dispatches from Washington, DC
  4. Record-Setting Corn Grows 45 Feet Tall
AAAS