Vision

Most Recent

How to Build a Cancer Sensor System

By Lee Hartwell(lhartwell@fhcrc.org) | September 26, 2005

A Boeing engineer tells me that a modern airplane has about 10,000 sensors constantly recording information, not only to inform pilots about the plane's performance but also to forecast mechanical problems that can be corrected during routine maintenance.

0 Comments

Lights... Camera... Action!

By Beth Anderson(beth@arkitek.com) | September 26, 2005

Complex systems beg simplification.

0 Comments

The Inchoate Science of Consciousness

By Christof Koch(koch@klab.caltech.edu) | September 12, 2005

A new scientific field is being born, one that seeks to understand which organisms have subjective states, what purpose theymight serve, and how distinct states of consciousness come about.

0 Comments

The Business of Building Leaders

By Benjamin Doranz(bdoranz@integralmolecular.com) | August 1, 2005

Cultivating scientific leaders is a bit like drug discovery.

0 Comments

The Next Frontier in Cellular Networking

By Herbert Sauro(Herbert_Sauro@kgi.edu) | August 1, 2005

The first statement that usually accompanies a talk or journal article on cellular biology is usually something like, "Life is complicated."

0 Comments

Immunity is the Best Biomarker

By John Dunne(john_dunne@bd.com) | July 18, 2005

Faith in the promise of pharmacogenomics has changed the plan for primary healthcare.

0 Comments

Under The Microscope

By Stephen Bent(sbent@foley.com) | July 4, 2005

A global effort is underway to determine whether embryonic stem cells can be used to treat a variety of conditions, including diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and Parkinson disease.

0 Comments

The Uncertain Future for Central Dogma

By Arnold Goodman(agoodman@uci.edu) | June 20, 2005

Nearly two decades ago, Paul H. Silverman testified before Congress to advocate the Human Genome Project.

0 Comments

Walk Like A Molecular Motor

By Paul Selvin(selvin@uiuc.edu) | June 20, 2005

Cells are a riot of activity.

0 Comments

Making Biological Computing Smarter

By Nina Fedoroff(nvf1@psu.edu) | June 6, 2005

Experimental biologists today sit at the edge of enormous bodies of information.

0 Comments

Popular Now

  1. How to Separate the Science From the (Jerk) Scientist
  2. Could a Dose of Sunshine Make You Smarter?
  3. Sweden Cancels Agreement With Elsevier Over Open Access
  4. Prevalent Form of Childhood Leukemia May Be Preventable