Melvin N.A. Peterson, former director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography’s international deep sea drilling project at the University of California, San Diego, was nominated first chief scientist of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Peterson will be one of NOAA’s chief policy advisers on environmental issues and will serve as its principal spokesman on science and technology.

The International Union of Pure & Applied Chemistry voted French inorganic chemist Yves P. Jeannin president-elect. Jeannin currently heads the Pierre and Marie Curie University transition metal chemistry laboratory in Paris. He will succeed Valentin A. Koptyug of the U.S.S.R. as IUPAC president in August 1989.

The National Science Foundation appointed eight new members to three-year terms with its 1987-88 Advisory Committee to the Di- rectorate for Science and Engineering Education: C. Diane Bishop, Arizona State Department of Education; Bill Clinton, governor of Arkansas; Mary Hatwood Futrell, president, National...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?