The Federation of American Scientists chose six new council members this summer: Julius Axelrod, Nobel laureate, National Institute of Mental Health; Deborah Bleviss, executive director, International Institute for Energy Conservation; Dudley R. Herschbach, Nobel laureate, professor of science, Harvard University; Art Hobson, professor of physics, University of Arkansas; Stephen H. Schneider, deputy director, National Center for Atmospheric Research Advanced Study Program and Robert A. Weinberg, professor of biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

John Patrick Jordan, administrstor of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Cooperative State Research Service, has been named president-elect of the American Institute of Biological Sciences. He will become AIRS president for 1989. Paul A. Opler, editorial section chief, Office of Information Transfer of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior, was reelected AIBS secretary/treasurer. William Louis Stern, professor in the University of Florida botany department, Elizabeth F. Wells,...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?