Paul J. Fink has been elected president-elect of the American Psychiatric Association. He succeeds George Pollock, who is the new president of the 35,000-member association. Fink is medical director of the Philadelphia Psychiatric Center, chairman of the department of psychiatry at Albert Einstein Medical Center, and professor and deputy chairman of the department of psychiatry at Temple University Health Sciences Center.

Kenneth L. Nordtvedt Jr. has been nominated by President Reagan to serve a three-year term on the National Science Board, the policymaking arm of the National Science Foundation. Nordtvedt, a professor of physics at Montana State University since 1970, has served as a member of the Montana House of Representatives from 1979 to 1984 and also worked as a consultant to the U.S. Department of Energy. His nomination to the 24-member board is subject to Senate approval.

Roger E. Batzel, director of Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, has announced...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?