Robert M. White has been reelected to a second four-year term as president of the National Academy of Engineering. Before being elected president of the 1,300-member academy in 1983, White served as president of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, a consortium of 50 universities with research programs in atmospheric sciences and technology. White is a recognized expert in meteorology and oceanography and served as the first administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration from 1970 to 1977.

Re-elected to three-year terms on the NAE governing council were H. Norman Abramson, executive vice resident, Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, Texas; Gerald P. Dinneen, vice president of science and technology at Honeywell Inc.; and Paul E. Gray, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Ray Epstein, associate director of the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Re-search Center at Brandeis University, will move to Woods Hole, Mass., in June...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?