Robert L. White, William E. Ayer Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University took office this month as director of San Francisco's Exploratorium, a science, perception and art center with more than 600 hands-on exhibits. White succeeds founder Frank Oppenheimer, who directed the center from 1969 until his death in February 1985.

Donald J. Osterbrock has been elected to succeed Bernard Burke as president of the American Astronomical Society. Osterbrock, professor of astronomy arid astrophysics at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and astronomer at the Lick Observatory, will take office as president-elect in June. His two-year term as president will begin in June of 1988.

The AAS also elected two vice presidents: J. Roger Angel, professor of astronomy and optical sciences at the University of Arizona, and Stephen E. Strom, chairman of the Five College Radio Astronomy Department in Amherst, Mass.


The Rank Prize Funds...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?