Research
A New View of Translational Control
Charles Choi(cchoi@the-scientist.com) | Dec 5, 2005
The bank note that Dominique Weil used to buy ice cream for her family at the beach this past summer may have traveled a long way.
Precision Extinction
Nick Atkinson(natkinson@the-scientist.com) | Nov 21, 2005
from the British Isles finally ended.
Profiles of Infection
Douglas Steinberg(dsteinberg@the-scientist.com) | Nov 21, 2005
Potential perils from bioterrorism to bird flu are increasingly pushing proteomics researchers to identify molecules involved in the infection process.
The Autism Genetics Quandary
Karen Heyman(kheyman@the-scientist.com) | Nov 7, 2005
Although arguments remain over whether autism is genuinely on the rise to the astonishing degree reported in places like California, there is general agreement among scientists that the condition has a genetic basis.
Neural Oscillations ...Still Make Waves
Karen Heyman(kheyman@the-scientist.com) | Nov 7, 2005
When an oscilloscope's audio monitor starts to screech rhythmically in a neurophysiology lab, its waves hint at one of the most puzzling patterns in biology.
The Flap about FoxP2
The Flap about FoxP2
Jack Lucentini | Oct 24, 2005
Recent results are as puzzling as they are beguiling, dredging up debates about the nature of language and the ability of a single gene to affect it so greatly.
A Nuclear Model of Gene Regulation
Josh Roberts(jroberts@the-scientist.com) | Oct 10, 2005
and many since have sought to explain correlations between a gene's physical location and its activity.
Chemical Genomics Collaborations Heat Up
Stephen Pincock(spincock@the-scientist.com) | Sep 26, 2005
The National Institutes of Health has placed the heft of a large academic collaboration, on par in scale with the Human Genome Project, behind a task usually performed by pharmaceutical companies.
Integrin Signaling at a Crossroads
Megan Stephan(mstephan@the-scientist.com) | Sep 12, 2005
Integrins serve as the cell's conduit to the outside world, sensing the external environment and passing on instructions: differentiate or not, adhere or move on, live or die.
A Ban on Estrogenics?
Jonathan Weitzman(jweitzman@the-scientist.com) | Aug 1, 2005
California may soon become the first US state to adopt legislation banning the manufacture and sale of children's products containing certain chemicals designed to soften plastics.