Technology
A Buyers' Guide to Transposon Kits
Jeremy Peirce(jpeirce@the-scientist.com) | Dec 5, 2005
If you thought transposons were mere genetic curiosities, think again.
AFM: Not Just for Materials Science Anymore
Karen Heyman(kheyman@the-scientist.com) | Dec 5, 2005
The atomic-force microscope (AFM) was developed 20 years ago, but only recently has it become a significant tool for biologists.
Getting Started with SNPs
Laura Spinney(lspinney@the-scientist.com) | Nov 21, 2005
Richard Houlston works at the Institute of Cancer Research in Sutton, UK, where he searches for genes that confer susceptibility to disease.
Trading Up in Animal Research
Graciela Flores(gflores@the-scientist.com) | Nov 7, 2005
So, you've been working with small animals and you want to move up to larger experimental models.
How to Move Your Lab
Erika Jonietz(ejonietz@the-scientist.com) | Nov 7, 2005
Irene Pepperberg, a Harvard University research associate who studies cognition and communication in African grey parrots, has moved her lab four times since 1984.
Brain Stains
Aileen Constans(aconstans@the-scientist.com) | Nov 7, 2005
Short of sticking electrodes directly into an organism's brain, scientists looking to image neural signaling in living systems have few options.
Lessons from the Past
Bennett Daviss | Oct 24, 2005
Although she died when the Roman Empire ruled her native land, a five-year-old Egyptian child named Sherit is nevertheless pushing the envelope in high-tech medicine.
Buyer's Guide to Flow Cytometers
Jeff Minerd(jminerd@the-scientist.com) | Oct 24, 2005
NASA scientists, in conjunction with Guava Technologies of Hayward, Calif., recently announced a compact prototype flow cytometer that functions in zero-gravity, for use aboard the International Space Station.
New Arrays Open 'Junk DNA' to Exploration
Lissa Harris(lharris@the-scientist.com) | Oct 10, 2005
Microarrays present researchers with something of a catch-22: In order to find something, you have to know what you're looking for.
Preparing for SARS
JR Minkel(jrminkel@the-scientist.com) | Oct 10, 2005
When the next outbreak of severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) will emerge is anyone's guess.