ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
Technology
AFM: Not Just for Materials Science Anymore
Karen Heyman(kheyman@the-scientist.com) | Dec 4, 2005 | 6 min read
The atomic-force microscope (AFM) was developed 20 years ago, but only recently has it become a significant tool for biologists.
A Buyers' Guide to Transposon Kits
Jeremy Peirce(jpeirce@the-scientist.com) | Dec 4, 2005 | 6 min read
If you thought transposons were mere genetic curiosities, think again.
Getting Started with SNPs
Laura Spinney(lspinney@the-scientist.com) | Nov 20, 2005 | 5 min read
Richard Houlston works at the Institute of Cancer Research in Sutton, UK, where he searches for genes that confer susceptibility to disease.
Brain Stains
Aileen Constans(aconstans@the-scientist.com) | Nov 6, 2005 | 5 min read
Short of sticking electrodes directly into an organism's brain, scientists looking to image neural signaling in living systems have few options.
How to Move Your Lab
Erika Jonietz(ejonietz@the-scientist.com) | Nov 6, 2005 | 6 min read
Irene Pepperberg, a Harvard University research associate who studies cognition and communication in African grey parrots, has moved her lab four times since 1984.
Trading Up in Animal Research
Graciela Flores(gflores@the-scientist.com) | Nov 6, 2005 | 6 min read
So, you've been working with small animals and you want to move up to larger experimental models.
Buyer's Guide to Flow Cytometers
Jeff Minerd(jminerd@the-scientist.com) | Oct 23, 2005 | 3 min read
NASA scientists, in conjunction with Guava Technologies of Hayward, Calif., recently announced a compact prototype flow cytometer that functions in zero-gravity, for use aboard the International Space Station.
Lessons from the Past
Bennett Daviss | Oct 23, 2005 | 3 min read
Although she died when the Roman Empire ruled her native land, a five-year-old Egyptian child named Sherit is nevertheless pushing the envelope in high-tech medicine.
Give your Protein a Tune-up
Megan Stephan(mstephan@the-scientist.com) | Oct 9, 2005 | 8 min read
Gadget freaks love to "mod" their toys, and protein engineers are no exception.
Preparing for SARS
JR Minkel(jrminkel@the-scientist.com) | Oct 9, 2005 | 3 min read
When the next outbreak of severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) will emerge is anyone's guess.
New Arrays Open 'Junk DNA' to Exploration
Lissa Harris(lharris@the-scientist.com) | Oct 9, 2005 | 5 min read
Microarrays present researchers with something of a catch-22: In order to find something, you have to know what you're looking for.
A Live-Animal Test for BSE?
Doug Payne(dpayne@the-scientist.com) | Sep 25, 2005 | 3 min read
The discovery of even a single case of mad cow disease can be economically devastating.
Buyer's Guide to Gel Documentation Systems
Jeremy Peirce(jpeirce@the-scientist.com) | Sep 25, 2005 | 3 min read
Researcher Willy Walter of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, has fairly typical gel-documentation needs: "We take pictures of ethidium bromide-stained agarose gels using a UV transilluminator and of yeast colonies under white light."
Your Database Is Talking; Is Anybody Listening?
Amy Adams(aadams@the-scientist.com) | Sep 11, 2005 | 6 min read
During most of the 1990s, a linguistic chasm divided the worlds of flies, worms, mice, and other model organisms.
How Does Your Virus Grow?
Erika Jonietz(ejonietz@the-scientist.com) | Sep 11, 2005 | 6 min read
Researchers at Chiron made virology history in 1987 when they discovered the hepatitis C virus (HCV), not by isolating viral particles, but by cloning and sequencing its genome.
Cloning Without Restriction
Gail Dutton(gdutton@the-scientist.com) | Sep 11, 2005 | 6 min read
Cloning DNA fragments using restriction enzymes is like flying from Seattle to New York via Phoenix.
Stereo Microscopes: Still Changing After All These Years
Stuart Blackman(sblackman@the-scientist.com) | Aug 1, 2005 | 6 min read
Stereomicroscopes are not sexy
Time to Regulate Nanoparticle Safety?
Susan Gaidos(sgaidos@the-scientist.com) | Aug 1, 2005 | 3 min read
It's not often that an industry volunteers for tighter regulation and oversight.
Precast Gels Ascendant
Anne Harding(aharding@the-scientist.com) | Jul 17, 2005 | 6 min read
It is a lament heard in labs everywhere, usually on Friday nights: "I can't go out, I've got to run a gel."
Microarray Data Stands Up to Scrutiny
Lissa Harris(lharris@the-scientist.com) | Jul 17, 2005 | 6 min read
The power and promise of microarrays are vast.
ADVERTISEMENT