Thomson Reuters Predicts Nobelists

The information firm uses citation statistics to forecast potential winners of the 2015 Nobel Prizes in Chemistry and Physiology or Medicine.

Bob Grant
Bob Grant

From 2017 to 2022, Bob Grant was Editor in Chief of The Scientist, where he started in 2007 as a Staff Writer.

View full profile.

Learn about our editorial policies.


Science prize season is upon us. This year’s Lasker Awards went to researchers studying cancer immunotherapy and scientists studying the DNA-damage response, and the 2015 Nobel Prize announcements are right around the corner. And the annual tradition of trying to predict who might take home one of science’s top honors is also in full swing. Information service provider Thomson Reuters released its “Citation Laureates” today (September 24), and some of the hottest areas of life science are represented: studies of the gut microbiome, CRISPR/Cas9 genome editing, and work on regulatory T cells round out the biology research highlighted by the Thomson Reuters’s picks. Here is the complete list of Citation Laureates, which has included 37 eventual Nobel Prize winners since 2002. Stay tuned to The Scientist to learn if this year’s crop goes on to take medals home from Stockholm.

2015 Citation Laureates in...

  • Jeffrey Gordon of Washington University in St. Louis for “demonstrating the relationship between the human gut microbiome and physiology, metabolism, and nutrition.”
  • Kazutoshi Mori of Kyoto University in Japan and Peter Walter of the University of California, San Francisco, for “independently identifying the mechanism by which unfolded proteins in the endoplasmic reticulum are detected and corrected.”
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s Alexander Rudensky along with Shimon Sakaguchi from Osaka University and Ethan Shevach of the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for “their seminal discoveries concerning the nature and function of regulatory T cells and the transcription factor Foxp3.”

And this year’s Citation Laureates in Chemistry:

  • Carolyn Bertozzi of Stanford University for “foundational contributions to bioorthogonal chemistry.”
  • Emmanuelle Charpentier of Germany’s Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research and Jennifer Doudna at the University of California, Berkeley, for “the development of the CRISPR-cas9 method for genome editing.”

Interested in reading more?

The Scientist ARCHIVES

Become a Member of

Receive full access to more than 35 years of archives, as well as TS Digest, digital editions of The Scientist, feature stories, and much more!
Already a member?