Vision
Mining the Ubiquitin Pathway
John Hall(hall@lifesensors.com) | Dec 5, 2005
In October 2004, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Aaron Ciechanover, Avram Hersko, and Irwin Rose "for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation."
Protein Solution Structure in Three Days or Less?
John Markley(markley@nmrfam.wisc.edu) | Dec 5, 2005
More efficient protein structure determination is a major goal of the US structural genomics projects.
Cancer Research in Flames
Michael Karin(karinoffice@ucsd.edu) | Dec 5, 2005
One problem with the current war on cancer is that much of it focuses on destroying the malignant cell itself while paying little attention to some of cancer's allies that are more prone to attack.
Merging Companies Safely
William Gaede | Nov 21, 2005
Every life scientist practices due diligence.
Minding the Drug Development Gap
Edward Spack | Nov 7, 2005
Twenty-five years after the enactment of the Bayh-Dole Act, scientists and administrators in academia who are interested in moving bench discoveries to the clinic are learning what travelers in London's subway system already know: It's important to "mind the gap."
How Do We Look?
Matteo Carandini(matteo@ski.org) | Nov 7, 2005
Since long before the word neuroscience was coined, the community has devoted substantial resources to studying the visual system, and for good reason.
The Protein Structure Initiative, Five Years Later
John Norvell(norvellj@nigms.nih.gov) | Oct 24, 2005
Five years have passed since the National Institutes of Health launched the Protein Structure Initiative (PSI), a 10-year, $600 million effort to accelerate structural genomics.
On Human Diversity
Armand Leroi(a.leroi@ic.ac.uk) | Oct 24, 2005
Henry Flower became director of the British Museum of Nat ural History in 1884, and promptly set about rearranging exhibits.
DNA Damage Responses: Cancer and Beyond
Michael Kastan(michael.kastan@stjude.org) | Oct 10, 2005
The composition and sequence of 3 billion bases of DNA serve as a major determinant of our individual physiology.
How to Find New Antibiotics
Jo Handelsman(joh@plantpath.wisc.edu) | Oct 10, 2005
We need new antibiotics.