Citing broad range of challenges facing the president, observers laud diversity among advisory panel choices


Chairman and CEO of Martin Marietta Corp., Bethesda, Md. Currently serving on the Defense Policy Advisory Committee on Trade and as chairman of the National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee. Served as undersecretary of the Army in 1975-77.

Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences and professor of philosophy at the University of California, Irvine. President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Professor at the Santa Fe Institute, Sante Fe, N.M., and cochairman of its science board. R.A. Millikan Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics at the California Institute of Technology. Awarded the 1969 Nobel Prize in physics for his research in elementary particle theory. Served on President's Science Advisory Committee during Nixon administration.

President of the Carnegie Corporation of New York. Former president of AAAS. Former president of the Institute of Medicine...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!