The heads of research bodies from 10 European countries have signed a joint agreement promising to allow scientists moving between their nations to take grant money with them.

The letter of intent was announced Monday (November 8) by the German Research Foundation (DFG). It had been signed at a meeting of European Heads of Research Councils (EUROHORCs) on October 22 in Lisbon. DFG President Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker currently holds the rotating presidency of EUROHORCs.

Signers included the heads of two research organizations each from the United Kingdom and Belgium, and one each from Spain, Denmark, Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, Sweden, and Portugal.

Christoph Mühlberg, head of the DFG's section for International Cooperation—Western Europe, told The Scientist that another six to eight organization heads are expected to sign the letter by the end of the year.

Mühlberg said 21 European nations are represented in EUROHORCs by 42 organizations. Not all...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to more than 35 years of archives, as well as TS Digest, digital editions of The Scientist, feature stories, and much more!
Already a member?