Sir Francis Graham-Smith, Astronomer Royal and director of Nuffield Radio Astronomy Laboratory, for his contributions to radio and optical astronomy.

Sir Eric Denton, secretary of the Marine Biological Association, for his contributions to the physiology of marine animals, to marine biology in general, and his leadership of U.K. marine science.

G.V.R. Born, Emeritus Professor of Pharmacology, University of London, Kings College, to honor his many contributions to the physiology, pathology and pharmacology of platelets.

Six others were also recognized as recipients of 1987 awards and medals:
M.A. Ford, technical director of Perkin-Elmer Ltd., received the annual Mullard Award, which honors contributions to the advancement of science, engineering or technology that lead directly to national prosperity in the United Kingdom. Ford was cited for his work toward developing and designing analytical products in the field of infrared spectroscopy.

George William Gray, G.S. Grant Professor of Chemistry,...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?