Seven scientists, several of whom have made significant contributions to the understanding of cellular and genetic activity, have been named as recipients of this year's Gairdner Foundation International Awards for excellence in medical science. The award ceremony will take place in Toronto on October 23; the winners will divide the foundation's largess, which totals $220,000 Canadian.

Throughout its 35-year existence, the Willowdale, Ontario-based foundation has honored 225 scientists from 12 countries that span four continents. This year's winners are two scientists from Canada, two from England, and three from the United States. Since the Gairdner Foundation started presenting its medical science awards in 1957, 39 of the winners have subsequently received a Nobel Prize. Previous Gairdner Award recipients who have gone on to win the Nobel include biologist Julius Axelrod, chemist Thomas Cech, biologist David Baltimore, DNA co-discoverer Francis Crick, Vanderbilt University biochemist Stanley Cohen, and microbiologist Harold Varmus....

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?