Three researchers, linkurl:Victor Ambros,; at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, linkurl:Gary Ruvkun,; at Massachusetts General Hospital, and linkurl:David Baulcombe,; at the University of Cambridge in the UK, will share the 2008 Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research for their discovery of microRNAs, the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation linkurl:announced; today (Saturday, September 13). Ambros and Ruvkun will receive the award for their work describing microRNAs in Caenorhabditis elegans. Baulcombe wins the award for his work in plants. The Lasker-Debakey Award for Clinical Medical Research will be given to Akira Endo, a researcher at Biopharm Research Laboratories in Tokyo for his discovery of LDL-cholesterol-lowering statins. And the biennial Lasker-Koshland Award for Special Achievement in Medical Science will be awarded to linkurl:Stanley Falkow,; at Stanford University, for his work in microbes and host-pathogen interactions. "The 2008 Awards represent science at its best: intelligent, creative and dedicated research that touches...
The ScientistThe ScientistC eleganslin-14lin-4lin-14lin-4lin-14lin-4lin-14lin-4lin-14lin-4lin-14C elegansThe ScientistC elegansThe ScientistThe ScientistThe Scientist

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to more than 35 years of archives, as well as TS Digest, digital editions of The Scientist, feature stories, and much more!