The 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry will go to Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, a molecular and cell biologist at MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology at Cambridge, Thomas Steitz, a molecular biochemist at Yale University, and Ada Yonath, a structural biologist at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot, Israel for their work mapping the ribosome--one of the cell's most complex machines--at the atomic level. They will share the prize equally. Please check back later today for full coverage of this year's award.

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to more than 35 years of archives, as well as TS Digest, digital editions of The Scientist, feature stories, and much more!
Already a member?