This year's Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine goes to linkurl:Mario Capecchi; , Martin J. Evans and Oliver Smithies for developing the method of gene targeting in mice leading to the "knock out" mice used today as models of human disease. The trio of scientists received the linkurl:Lasker award; for Medical Research in 2001 for their achievements. Read more about the prize in our daily news report later this morning.

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to more than 35 years of archives, as well as TS Digest, digital editions of The Scientist, feature stories, and much more!
Already a member?