Robert E. Pollock, Distinguished Professor of Physics at Indiana University, Bloomington, and Henry G. Blosser, University Distinguished Professor of physics at Michigan State University, have received the American Physical Society's Tom W. Bonner Prize. The prize, APS's highest honor in experimental nuclear physics, was presented on April 22 at the society's meeting in Washington, D.C. Pollock and Blosser will share the $5,000 cash award.

Pollock, 56, conceived and designed the cooler facility at the Indiana University Cyclotron Facility and was its director from 1972 to 1979. Blosser, 64, led the design and construction of an innovative room-temperature cyclotron at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory at Michigan State, of which he was codirector from 1985 to 1989. Their research developments "have also led to important advances in accelerator techniques for the neighboring disciplines of atomic and medical physics," according to the award citation.

Pollock received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?