The National Academy of Sciences is scheduled to present 11 awards to 13 noteworthy individuals in the scientific community at its annual meeting in Washington, D.C., today.

"Certain awards are annual, and some cycle differently--every two years, every five years," though all are given at the spring NAS meeting, says Mary Hofbauer Brown, NAS director of membership services. "This year we have a small crop--next year we'll have something like 16 or 17."

Of the recipients, Brown says, "of course, all are outstanding, or they would not be receiving awards from NAS and other groups." This year's winners' CVs contain a wide variety of other awards, fellowships, and prizes, including, in the case of Chemical Sciences Award winner Donald Cram, the Nobel Prize. Only two honorees are members of NAS--Cram and Public Welfare Medalist Philip Hauge Abelson, former editor of Science magazine.

Considered the academy's highest honor, the Public Welfare...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?