Immunology Author: Neeraja Sankaran

This year, the New York City-based Cancer Research Institute (CRI) honored three prominent scientists with its William B. Coley Awards for Distinguished Research, which recognize outstanding research in the field of cancer immunology. The awards were presented at a black-tie dinner on June 28.

Malcolm A.S. Moore, a hematologist at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC), New York, and Timothy A. Springer, a professor of pathology at the Center for Blood Research, Harvard Medical School, were honored in the basic immunology category. Ferdy J. Lejeune, director of Centre Pluridisciplinaire D'Oncologie, Lausanne, Switzerland, received the clinical immunology prize.

CRI is a nonprofit corporation that supports research in the field of cancer immunology through grants to postdoctoral fellows and investigators. The institute's annual awards recognizing outstanding achievements in the field were established in 1975 in honor of William B. Coley, a turn-of-the-century physician who pioneered the field of tumor...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!