Women Nobel Prize winners will help the Association for Women in Science (AWIS) kick off its 25th anniversary celebration in February. Laureates Rosalyn Yalow and Gertrude Elion will speak at a symposium titled "Women Nobelists: Their Work, Their Lives, and Their Impact on Science and Technology" at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), slated for February 8-12 in Baltimore. Also presenting at the symposium, scheduled for the afternoon of February 9, will be Bruce Alberts, president of the National Academy of Sciences, who will discuss the work of the late Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock.

Yalow received the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine in 1977 for the development of radioimmunoassays of peptide hormones. (That year, the prize was split in half; the other half went to Roger Guillemen and Andrew Schally for discoveries related to the brain's production of peptide hormones.) An unshared...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?