Lennart Carleson

Lennart Carleson, a professor of mathematics at Sweden's Uppsala University and at the University of California, and John G. Thompson, the Rouse Ball Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Cambridge, England, have been chosen to receive the 1992 Wolf Prize in mathematics. They will share the $100,000 prize, one of several awarded annually in various fields by the Israel-based Wolf Foundation. The president of Israel will present the awards on May 17 in Jerusalem.

Carleson was cited for his "fundamental contributions to Fourier analysis, complex analysis, quasi-conformal mappings, and dynamical systems, which have established his position as one of the greatest analysts of the 20th century." He received his Ph.D. at Uppsala in 1950, and joined the faculty of the university in 1951. He became a professor at UCLA in 1986. Carleson's other awards include the American Mathematical Society's 1984 Steele Prize.

Thompson was recognized "for...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?