Frank Press, outgoing president of the National Academy of Sciences, and chemist Kary B. Mullis, inventor of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR), have been selected as winners of the 1993 Japan Prize. Press and Mullis will each receive 50 million yen (about $385,000), a gold medal, and a certificate from the Science and Technology Foundation of Japan during a ceremony to be held at the National Theatre in Tokyo on April 28. The award has been given since 1985 in two categories that change annually.

Press, a geophysicist, is receiving the award in the category of Safety Engineering and Disaster Mitigation. He is regarded by the presenters as one of the pioneers in modern earthquake seismology for using the surface wave motion and ruptures of the Earth's crust and upper mantle as predictors of quakes. In 1957, Press was instrumental in creating the International Geophysical Year, a...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?