The pain research prize was given to Patrick D. Wall, a physician and professor of anatomy at University College, London, while the neuroscience award is shared by Tomas Hokfelt of the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden; Walle J.H. Nauta of MIT; and T.P.S. Powell of the University of Oxford. The pain award was presented at the Society for Neuroscience meeting in Toronto last month, and the neuroscience award was presented at a New York City ceremony in October.

Commenting on his capturing of the Bristol-Myers Award for Distinguished Achievement in Pain Research—said to be the first ever given in the field—Wall says, “I’m very delighted. This represents recognition of pain research—that it is a serious subject. Pain is still one of the taboo words of modern medicine. Treating symptons has been regarded as a second-class form of medicine. One, of course, would like to go straight to the root cause...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?