The recipients of the 1995 National Medals of Technology included two corporations, a team of three scientists from one company, and three other individuals. Like their science medal counterparts, the technology medals represent the United States' highest honor for achievement in technology. This year's winners are:

  • A three-member team at IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, N.Y., consisting of Praveen Chaudhari, Jerome C. Cuomo (retired), and Richard Gambino (retired), for their discovery in the 1970s of amorphous magnetic materials that are used in the manufacture of magnetic-optic disks.

  • Edward R. McCracken, chairman and CEO of Los Altos, Calif.-based Silicon Graphics Inc. (SGI), for his work in the areas of affordable three-dimensional visual-computing technologies, and leadership in building SGI into a global advanced-technology company.

  • Sam B. Williams, chairman and CEO of Williams International, Walled Lake, Minn., for his innovations in the area of small gas turbine engine technology, and...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!