VOLUME 5, No:19 The Scientist September 30, 1991


-------- WASHINGTON--President Bush recently honored 20 scientists for their lifetime achievements. A September 16 White House ceremony marked the annual presentation of the National Medal of Science. At the ceremony, the president also presented the National Medal of Technology to 18 researchers for their achievements in advanced manufacturing and technology, product and process innovation, technological manpower development, and technology transfer. This year's recipients of the National Medal of Science are:

Mary Ellen Avery, Thomas Morgan Rotch Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School.

Ronald Breslow, S.L. Mitchill Professor of Chemistry, Columbia University.

Alberto P. Calderon, professor of mathematics, emeritus, University of Chicago.

Gertrude Elion, scientist emeritus, Burroughs Wellcome Co., Research Triangle Park, N.C.

George Heilmeier, president and CEO, Bellcore, Livingston, N.J.

Dudley Herschbach, Fred B. Baird Professor of Chemistry, Harvard University.

G. Evelyn Hutchinson, Sterling Professor Emeritus of...

Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to digital editions of The Scientist, as well as TS Digest, feature stories, more than 35 years of archives, and much more!
Already a member?