William Seeley, Sarah Otto, Kevin Guskiewicz, Elodie Ghedin, Yukiko YamashitaCOURTESY THE JOHN D. & CATHERINE T. MACARTHUR FOUNDATION

Five life science researchers counted among this year’s 22 MacArthur Fellowship recipients,  announced Tuesday, September 20th.  Each will receive a monetary prize of $500,000 over the next five years with no stipulations on how the money should be spent and no reporting requirements.

Winners include the following:

  • Elodie Ghedin, at the University of Pittsburgh, who studies parasites and diseases endemic to tropical climates, such as leishmaniasis, river blindness, Chagas disease and elephantitis. Through global collaborations and sequencing technology, she is revealing physiological similarities and differences between the pathogens that may become targets for drug development.
  • Kevin Guskiewicz at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, whose research on sports-related concussions was one of the first to show the long-term neurological effects of such injuries.  He helped develop what has become...




Interested in reading more?

Become a Member of

Receive full access to more than 35 years of archives, as well as TS Digest, digital editions of The Scientist, feature stories, and much more!
Already a member?