Closing Bell
Just Check It!
John Bohannon(jbohannon@the-scientist.com) | Dec 5, 2005
It's just past midnight and a Vienna rave is at full-throttle, packed with sweaty dancers pulsing to an electronic beat.
Buy your own lab
Adam Marcus(amarcus@the-scientist.com) | Nov 7, 2005
Anyone can buy naming rights to a star, but Gary and Linda Dower are hoping to pick up their very own observatory.
Scientists: Kenya Wants You!
Stephen Pincock(spincock@the-scientist.com) | Oct 24, 2005
The Institute of Primate Research, in the Ololua forest about 20 kilometers outside the Kenyan capital, Nairobi, has been in operation since it was founded by the archaeologist Louis Leakey in 1960.
To Fight Plague, Look to Russia's Past
Janet Ginsburg(jginsburg@the-scientist.com) | Oct 10, 2005
A century before Ebola, SARS, or avian flu began making head-lines, another invisible killer was carving a swath of death and fear across the Russian Empire: the plague.
Hair, the Call of the Wild
Brendan Maher(bmaher@the-scientist.com) | Sep 12, 2005
Jack London once said that he would "rather be ashes than dust."
Stand (Swim, Wriggle, Crawl, or Fly) and Be Counted
Brendan Maher(bmaher@the-scientist.com) | Jul 18, 2005
The scientists were already massing when I arrived at Bronx River Forest on a steamy June morning.
Please Stop, You're Interfering With My Research
Ivan Oransky(ioransky@the-scientist.com) | Jun 20, 2005
Thank you, members of Congress, for the opportunity to address you at this hearing today.
Banking on Biology
Carol Milano(cmilano@the-scientist.com) | May 23, 2005
If you were a small business owner looking for a loan, you'd expect financial and perhaps accounting advice from your banker.
Spring has Sprung
Ivan Oransky(ioransky@the-scientist.com) | Apr 25, 2005
On a recent visit to the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, the witch hazel was just beginning to bloom, the magnolia trees were budding, but in the herbarium staging area, it was still spring training.
In Search of Bugs
In Search of Bugs
Karen Heyman(kheyman@the-scientist.com) | Mar 28, 2005
Premieres on PBS, April 17.