Opinion
Opinion: Constrain Speculation to Protect the Integrity of Science
Opinion: Constrain Speculation to Protect the Integrity of Science
Mike Klymkowsky | Jun 18, 2018
What we can know about biology before the last universal common ancestor is limited—and we should be circumspect in filling in the gaps.
Opinion: How to Use Mobile Apps for Immunohistochemistry
Opinion: How to Use Mobile Apps for Immunohistochemistry
Alexander E. Kalyuzhny | May 25, 2018
This guide for apps comes from personal experience testing various programs aimed to improve productivity or to help with selecting reagents.
Opinion: Should Human-Animal Chimeras Be Granted “Personhood”?
Opinion: Should Human-Animal Chimeras Be Granted “Personhood”?
John D. Loike | May 23, 2018
Determining which products of advanced biotechnology are deserving of legal protections is essential to our own social architecture.
Opinion: We Must Demand Evidence of Peer Review
Opinion: We Must Demand Evidence of Peer Review
Nikolai Slavov | May 21, 2018
Peer review varies in quality and thoroughness. Making it publicly available could improve it.
Opinion: How We Found a New Way to Detect “Hidden Sharks”
Opinion: How We Found a New Way to Detect “Hidden Sharks”
Judith Bakker, Stefano Mariani | May 7, 2018
Given the speed and efficiency of environmental (eDNA) sampling, a much larger portion of the sea can be screened, in a shorter time, for patterns of diversity.
Opinion: Microbial Mind Control—Truth or Scare?
Opinion: Microbial Mind Control—Truth or Scare?
Katerina Johnson | May 1, 2018
Normal brain function may have evolved to depend on gut microbes and their metabolites.
Opinion: We Have Been Naive About Naive T Cells
Opinion: We Have Been Naive About Naive T Cells
José A.M. Borghans, Femke van Wijk, Theo van den Broek | Apr 6, 2018
Human naive T cells are far more heterogeneous than has long been appreciated, having implications for vaccine strategies.
Opinion: No, FDA Didn’t Really Approve 23andMe’s <em>BRCA</em> Test
Opinion: No, FDA Didn’t Really Approve 23andMe’s BRCA Test
Cecile Janssens | Mar 19, 2018
Rather, the breast cancer mutation screen was classified as a type of medical device with obligations for the company to reduce risks to customers.
Opinion: Do Not Believe the Hype
Opinion: Do Not Believe the Hype
Aymen I. Idris | Feb 5, 2018
Marijuana ointments as cancer treatments remain a distant prospect. 
Opinion: Label Drugs That Are Tested on Animals
Opinion: Label Drugs That Are Tested on Animals
Shaun Khoo | Jan 16, 2018
Transparency about the role of animals in drug development could help raise awareness of and appreciation for preclinical research.